← The ranking: measured cold-hold
Most insulated bottles are sealed with a lead pellet. The difference is who tells you.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Some links on this page are affiliate links, at no extra cost to you; affiliate status never changes a ranking or a verdict. Details.
The Stanley story (Jan 2024) taught everyone the question; almost nobody indexes the answers. For every brand we record what seals the vacuum — documented lead-free, an acknowledged encapsulated pellet, or silence — and who stands behind the claim, linked so you can read it yourself. We test nothing and make no health claims; we index the record.
What each verdict means
A verdict describes the published evidence about a sealing method — not the safety of any bottle. Lead sealed inside a base is a different fact from lead you can touch, and we never blur the two.
The brand publishes a lead-free sealing method — TempShield, lead-free solder, silica/glass plugs — covering the seal itself, not just "accessible components".
The industry-standard lead pellet, acknowledged plainly — encapsulated under the base, ideally with published leach testing behind the exposure claim.
Silence, or a hedge — "accessible components are lead-free" doesn't answer what seals the vacuum. May be fine; there's nothing published to check.
A public record disagrees with a specific claim — reserved for court findings and published tests of accessible components against content claims.
Every brand: what seals it, and who says so
Showing … of … brands · sorted by strength of the published answer · last reviewed 2026-07
| Brand | Vacuum-seal method | The brand's claim | Verdict | Source | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydro Flask — Bottles & tumblers (TempShield insulation, 2013+) | lead-free proprietary sealing (TempShield) — brand states no lead in its sealing process since it left the industry-standard method (transition completed ~2013) | “"For over a decade, Hydro Flask has NOT had lead in our sealing process"” | lead-free-documented | Hydro Flask FAQ — "Does Hydro Flask use lead for sealing its bottles and tumblers?" | |
| Owala — FreeSip bottles & tumblers | lead-free solder from the brand's founding — Owala states it has never used lead in manufacturing | “"All Owala bottles and tumblers… are and always have been lead free"” | lead-free-documented | Owala blog — "Owala Water Bottles Will Always Be Lead Free" | |
| Klean Kanteen — Insulated bottles (TKWide, Classic) | silica/glass plug instead of lead-based sealing — a deliberately more expensive lead-free construction | “Seals with silica/glass plugs — all products lead-free” | lead-free-documented | Klean Kanteen FAQ (sealing method + lead-free statement) | |
| Yeti — Rambler drinkware | lead-containing sealing bead at the vacuum point, fully encapsulated under the base per Yeti; industry-common construction | “Sealing bead "contains lead… fully encapsulated and inaccessible"; third-party leach testing detects no lead” | disclosed-sealed | YETI Manufacturing FAQ (lead bead acknowledgment + leach testing) | |
| Stanley — Quencher tumblers & classic bottles (PMI Worldwide) | industry-standard sealing pellet containing lead at the vacuum base, covered by a stainless base cap; Stanley states no lead on any surface that contacts the user or contents | “"No lead is present on the surface of any Stanley product that comes into contact with the consumer nor the contents"” | disclosed-sealed | Stanley statement + case coverage (classaction.org) | |
| Simple Modern — Tumblers & bottles | not disclosed — the brand's safety statement is scoped to "accessible components" | “"Our products' accessible components are made without BPA, regulated phthalates, lead or cadmium"” | undisclosed | Simple Modern safety statement (as quoted in coverage; scoped to accessible components) | |
| RTIC — Tumblers & bottles | not disclosed — no lead or sealing-method statement located | “BPA- and BPS-free stainless steel (no lead statement)” | undisclosed | RTIC product materials (no lead/sealing statement located) | |
| Corkcicle — Canteens & tumblers | not disclosed — no current sealing-method statement located | “(no current lead statement located)” | undisclosed | Lead Safe Mama — 2018 Corkcicle XRF report (historical, single product) |
A verdict describes the published evidence about a sealing method, not the safety of any bottle — an encapsulated pellet is a different fact from accessible lead, and damaged base caps are their own question (covered here). We test nothing and make no health claims. Some product links are affiliate links — if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. Links appear only on documented-lead-free rows — never on disclosed or undisclosed rows, and they never change a verdict. Click any brand for the sourced breakdown.
Why this table is different
"Accessible components" is a hedge
Some brands' lead-free claims are carefully scoped to the parts you can touch — which by definition excludes the vacuum seal. We read the scope, not just the adjective. How sealing actually works →
Disclosure beats panic
Yeti's own FAQ acknowledges its lead bead and cites accredited leach testing that detects none at the surface. That's a better answer than silence — and the table says so, instead of scoring every pellet the same.
We don't test. We index.
Brand FAQs, court dockets, and published tests already hold the answers. Almost nobody lines them up. We do, with every source linked — and XRF vs leach handled honestly. Our method →
Does it have lead? brand by brand
The question everyone searched in January 2024, answered from the record.